top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Olsen

Northern Utah Beginner Ice Fishing Tips


Beginning Ice Fishing Tips

By John Olsen

When I was a kid, fishing became a yearly activity in Utah in 1985 when I was ten years old. Before that, there was a fishing season. It ran from Jun 1 - Nov 31. When I tell my kids there was a fishing season, they look at me funny. Yea, no ice fishing in Utah before 1985! That seems crazy to think about now.

Now you walk into a sporting goods store, and entire sections are all about ice fishing. When I started, I had a hatchet and my regular spinning rod, and I was trying to figure out what I was doing. If the ice was 2 feet thick, I spent the better part of an hour getting a hole, and if I poked through before, it was wide enough…… I chopped in a frozen shower of ice water. In those days, Hyrum dam, a block from where I grew up, would see 2-3 crazy people on a Saturday in January. People back then (including my dad) called us crazy. Now? Good luck finding a parking spot after 8 am on a Saturday.

Many a cold, snowy day after school, I marched around hoping to find a hole someone else dug so I didn't waste time chopping. I sat on a bucket 7 feet from the hole, freezing to death with a worm and a prayer. Damn, I miss those days.

Now I have a tent, heater, fish finder, expensive little poles, and a family who will go with me! That's heaven to me.

So you want to start ice fishing? You've come to the right place. My years of ice fishing experience can help you get a feel for it. I will, however, warn you;

First, it's addictive; you will start dreaming of ice fishing, and your wife/husband (if she/he likes spending time with you) will get annoyed with your absence. So try to make it a family affair. Say things like, "Dang, I miss spending time with little (insert your child's name here). I better take him or her fishing this weekend." Or "My friend Bob sure has been sad. I better take him fishing to cheer him up." Saying things like this makes it seem like you don't want to go, but it's the responsible thing to do.

Second, it can get expensive. I'll give you some tips to help with that, but you can spend A LOT, so you need to be more careful. And this, too, can get under the skin of your significant other. If you're trying to get the wife to join you, buying her an ice pole for your anniversary is not, I repeat, "NOT" advisable.

When you start your ice fishing adventure, go to Walmart and pick up one of their ice rods. I know what you're thinking "Walmart?" Yes, it's an inexpensive way to start. Walmart ice pole will run you from 15$ and up. Remember, you

may not like ice fishing! So to start, you need a rod or 2 in most cases. In Utah, you can fish with 2 rods on most waters. Check the regulations to know.

Next, pick up some 6 lb ice fishing line. Your Walmart pole will come with a line; however, it will be a 50 lb line that could pull the Titanic up; however, the fish can see that line! 6lb line will run you between 3-6$.

Next, pick up a set of ice fishing jigs. A pack will be around 15$. A 2-3 size is excellent for perch or trout in northern Utah, and you get an assortment of colors. Jig Color does matter. Sometimes they love pink, sometimes green. They can be as picky as a teenager picking out her dress for prom and change their mind as quickly.

Now for drilling your ice hole. If you're lucky enough to have a friend who loves ice fishing, he can bring his auger. But if you're starting out alone, you need one. They can range from a used one for 30$ to (and I'm not kidding) 900$ for an electric power auger. I suggest getting a new 6" Eskimo hand ice auger for 45$. When it comes to drilling an ice hole, you want those blades sharp. a 6" auger is just the right size for fishing in northern Utah. You can go 8", but it is unnecessary, more expensive, and brutal to drill.

Pro tip: When drilling your first hole, make it look hard if you're near someone with a power auger. Like you might die hard. Power auger guys (and I'm one of them) love to show off their auger. He sees you struggle; he'll run over to drill all your holes. But be prepared to hear stories about how he got his auger and jokes about how thick the ice is and how powerful his "Drill" is.

Next, Remember a chair: a camp chair from Walmart works tremendously and ranges from 8$ and up.

Next, you need a sled to pull all your equipment. A good sled can be found at most outdoor stores or on Amazon for 20$ and up. Make sure it is big enough for all your stuff.

Next, you need a bucket: A bucket is perfect for holding your poles and all your equipment in; it is also great to set stuff on to keep out of the snow. Buckets are around 5$ also at Walmart.

Fish finders and flashers are great but not necessary when you first start. Fish finders and flashers (yes, there is a difference) will run from 125$ and up for a good one. Then you have a battery to buy as well. Fish Finders are nice but optional when you are starting. When you first start ice fishing, move around, and find the fish. Talk to other fishermen and watch for "cities" where there is an entire lake, but everyone is bunched in 2 or 3 areas. If there is a city, someone is catching fish.

Next Bait; most places in northern Utah have Crappy perch and trout. All of these you can catch with mealworms, spikes, wax worms, or night crawlers. These are around 3-6$, and you can get them at most gas stations near the body of water.

For perch, look for deeper flats around 15-20 feet of water. That is where they congregate in mid-winter. My favorite set for perch is a #3 ice jig on the bottom, then 1 foot above that, tie a #2 ice jig with different colors to start and mealworm on both. When one color starts producing more, change all jigs to that color. Move around until you find the perch. Unfortunately, the bite is best early (when it's cold burrrr) and late afternoon.

You can try the same 15-20 feet for trout but suspended at 7-8 feet. Also, the same rig for trout, but try shrimp and power bait. I once bought shrimp to fish with, and my wife looked at me funny. She asked why I purchased 6$ worth of shrimp to catch 2$ worth of fish. Something's you just can't explain to your wife.

Get warm clothes! Sitting in the cold is just that cold! Dress for about 5 degrees colder than you think it will be. Tents are nice but at a price; make sure you love ice fishing before getting one. Good Ice tents can run 100$ for a one-man and up.

Next, do your research; conditions and fishing change week to week. Search what body of water is safe and the fishing report. Your local Facebook fishing group is great for info on what? Where? When and how? But it is also an excellent place for ridicule and general smartassory. Have a thick skin and be prepared for abuse. Also, https://wildlife.utah.gov/fishing/main-fishing-page.html is a superb place for current conditions, fishing, and stalking reports! Knowing the regulations for the lake, you plan to fish in is also essential. Every lake is different, so check. Ignorance of the regulations will get you in trouble!

Some of my favorite spots in northern Utah include:

Mantua: It is the first to freeze; it has perch, bluegill, trout, and more stocked.

Hyrum Res: It has Trout, Perch, and Bluegill. It is an excellent spot for perch.

Newton res: Newton has Perch blue gill and is one of the only cache valley spots with Chappy. The water level is unpredictable, and ice conditions can be tricky.

Pineview Res: It is a longer drive but worth it most days. It has the widest array of fish and is also the largest body of water.

There are many great ice fishing spots on the DWR website as well.

If you're starting, don't fuss with the expensive stuff. Remember, It doesn't have to break the bank to be fun! Wait until you fall in love with it before you buy the "ring," if you get my meaning!

Good luck, and stay warm!

John Olsen

24 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page