top of page
  • Writer's pictureJohn Olsen

2 Ways to Score Your Buck


By Author John Olsen

I have a few friends who are world-traveling hunters. They go on unforgettable hunts and are looking to break world records. If I had the means, I'd be doing that too. However, for now, I'm putting in for state Draws like almost all of you.

There are really just two ways to score your buck, and both have merit, but one is the way I was taught, and the older I get, the more I use it to score my bucks. But let's start with the first.

The first way to score your buck is Boone and Crockett, the best explained on the B&C website. This is the link https://www.boone-crockett.org/scorechart/add/mule_deer

, or if you are talking archery, you can always go to Pope and Young, but I'll stick with B&C for now.

The B&C score chart will give you an exact way to get the score off your antlers. But to get an actual legitimate score, you'll need this list https://www.boone-crockett.org/official-measurer-locator

This is a list of official B&C citified people. Only they can give you a valid "score." If you did it with a tape measure and string, It's just a guess by you or your buddy. Unfortunately, most hunters obsessed with their "Score" would be saddened if an official scored their deer. Officials don't care about your feelings, which is why they're official.

But let's be honest 98% of us will never get an official B&C score. We don't need to because 98% of all mules we kill will not be in the top 100 mule deer. And that's OK.

There isn't anything wrong with scoring your buck; the problem with this scoring method comes with social media. I love joining groups on Facebook or Instagram to see everyone's deer. It's fascinating and fun right up until they post the "Score," and then all hell breaks loose. Every official "Unofficial "scorekeeper in the world breaks out screaming bios or flat-out lies. As if this was a life or death MMA match for 50 million dollars, and the scorer just cheated them. I've never been the B&C score guy. It's not how I score; if I did, it would be if I killed a top 100 buck, and I alone wanted to know the score.

You need to do what brings you happiness. Suppose that score brings you happiness, more power to you. I won't take your joy away if you love arguing about it with strangers on the internet; good for you. I, however, prefer the second scoring method.

The second way, and, in my opinion, the best way to score a deer, is different.

Let me explain; I have a set of antlers in my son's room; it's a smaller 3x4 skull cap mount with the date on a plack under it. When I walk in and look at those antlers, I score it a 10/10, not for the size or "score" but because of the memories of shooting my first deer with my dad. The day we spent, how excited I was after I shot it, and how exhausted I was after dragging it to the truck. I see the small broken tine and remember the bolder that rolled on it as I drug it through a rock slide. The antler's worth is so much greater than a number.

I also have a nice buck Euro mounted, no monster but a good size super symmetrical 4x4, I see it in my office, and I give it a 10/10. I see it and remember taking my oldest for the first time hunting. He was 10, and we put a spot and stock on this buck. I dropped him

at 275 yards, a nice clean kill shot. My son was so excited as we walked over to him. A storm hit as we got to him, and it snowed a foot and a half before we got the deer back to the truck. I see those antlers and remember my son's smiling face with bright red cheeks as we dove home. I remember the jokes and singing to Johnny Cash as we drove home. I don't care if it's not the biggest deer I've shot or what it would score.

I have a bunch of Antlers Euro mounts from deer I've killed over the years, and I don't show them off to people. Because if I did, you'd look at the antlers and give them a score, but you'd be doing it without any context. You can't measure memories with a tape measure. Like the deer, I killed with my grandpa on his last hunt ever. You'd ask why I even kept those antlers. But you'd be missing the point. You'd be missing that it was the last time I hunted with my grandpa before he died. I hunt deer, elk, and many other animals, but what Im really hunting for is memories and meat. And that's what I call a trophy. Of course, I hunt for more mature bucks, and I love a heavy set of antlers, but I am more worried about the memories I make with my kids.

If you disagree, that's great. I'm OK with you scoring it; it may not detract from your memories. As a sportsman, for me, scores aren't what it's ALL about. Im sure I've pissed off about 50% of you right now, and that's OK too. You need to enjoy what you enjoy, and if that's scoring your buck, then do it. Arguing on Facebook about it is stupid, but you do you. Unless it's a 210+ score, your family and friends will remember you and the memories, not your Antlres


60 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page